Stories from Dante Told to the Children

DANTEFRONTCOVER-OPBy Mary MacGregor.  Dante’s Divine Comedy, written in the fourteenth century, is certainly one of the greatest epic poems ever written in Italian, and it certainly ranks among the world’s greatest literary undertakings.

This version, designed to introduce the Divine Comedy to younger readers (but older ones will find it equally readable) tells the story of each of the canticas, or main parts of the Divine Comedy: the Inferno, Purgatory and Paradise.

The Inferno, possibly the most famous canitca, tells of Dante’s journey to the Underworld, accompanied by the poet Virgil. There they see how each class of sinner is punished according to the extent of their misdeeds.

Purgatory tells of Dante and Virgil’s ascent of the Mountain of Purgatory. It has seven terraces, corresponding to the seven deadly sins: Wrath, Envy, Pride, Sloth, Lust, Gluttony, and Greed.

Paradise tells how Beatrice guides Dante into the celestial spheres of Heaven, and finishes with Dante coming before God in person.

This marvellous retelling of the Divine Comedy has been completely reset and benefits from a brand new glossary to help guide the modern reader through this classic work.

About the author: Mary MacGregor (1874–1961) was one of the most important juvenile historical authors of the early twentieth century. She specialized in classic history and European myths, and achieved fame for her ability to convert complex themes into simple storylines.

B & W paperback, 82 pages, 6″ x 9″, $8.95


Or buy on Amazon here.

Color edition paperback , $13.95

Preview here:


Or buy on Amazon here.